Sharon Begley Science Reporting Award

CASW will select the first winner of the Sharon Begley Science Reporting Award in 2022. The award, to be given annually, will recognize and support reporting and writing that embodies the high standards embodied by Sharon Begley (1956–2021), a science journalist of unflinching dedication, skill, moral clarity, and commitment to mentoring. The Sharon Begley Award comprises a career prize, recognizing the accomplishments of a mid-career science journalist, and a grant of at least $20,000 to enable the winner to undertake a significant reporting project.

Opportunity offered by:

Council for the Advancement of Science Writing

The Council for the Advancement of Science Writing is committed to improving the quality and quantity of science news reaching the public. Directed and advised by distinguished journalists and scientists,…
Opportunity type


Location(s) where available

All locations

Minimum grant amount (USD)


Maximum grant amount (USD)


Areas of focus

General Funding
Mental Health

Application deadline:
April 30, 2023
This is a recurring opportunity